top of page
  • Writer's pictureDamsel

All Things Must End

I always knew I wouldn’t be blogging forever. I guess I just didn’t think the end would arrive quite so suddenly. One day I intended to share a recommendation list for winter stories (a little late in the season, but whatever), the next moment I have no desire to write another sentence.

I started this blog because I knew I’d regret it if I never tried. Over the months I slowly developed a style in my reviews, honing my ability to spot problems and praises in prose. I wouldn’t say that I’m too good now, but it’s become more of an obligation I put on myself and less of a challenge to craft my opinions into sentences. However, these years of reviewing greatly helped me in editing my own book and I’m very grateful for the invaluable experience.

I still enjoy reading and I don’t think I’ll ever stop. The book that I’m reading now, Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry, is proving to be an excellent story. It’s like if John Steinbeck wrote a Western with likable characters. In other words, it’s totally my kind of book and I knew it from the second page. I said this would be a great reading year and I intend to keep the good books coming.

Will I return? I’m keeping the blog up, but I have no plans to post anytime soon. There are a few post ideas I wanted to do, so I may yet pop back every now and then, and I’d appreciate it if those following me would continue to do so. If you have a Goodreads account, I’m remaining there, so go follow me if you want to keep up with what I’m reading. And if for some reason you need to reach me, use the contact page.

I’m glad I did this. I learned a lot about writing, blogging, critiquing, and how deep my love of Thomas Cromwell is. (I had to sneak a Tudor reference in here somehow. C’mon. It’s me.) These are all important lessons. Now it’s time to turn my attention to more pressing projects.

So I bid you goodbye for the nonce, and wish you a year of happy reading.

49 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page