top of page
  • Writer's pictureDamsel

ARC Review: Lionhearts by Nathan Makaryk


Genre: Historical fiction

Series: Nottingham #2

Page Count: 560

Publication Year: 2020

Publisher: Tor/Forge Books

Special Notes: *Thank you to Netgalley, the publisher, and the author for providing me with an early copy in exchange for an honest review.*


Summary: Now that everything’s gone down the drain, the remaining crew try to fix Nottingham and—hopefully—England.



Well. This was my other most anticipated book of the year (here’s the other one). So much for it being worth the wait.

This book fails on three fronts: the plot, the women, and the men.

The plot is needlessly detailed and drawn out. The book’s timeline could’ve started later without losing much. Instead I chewed on this tough jerky for a month. This cumbersome journey is further shipwrecked by an intolerable cast.

The guilty parties:

In my Nottingham review I mentioned how all the women are modern. Nothing has changed. In fact, it’s gotten worse. They attribute many of their failings to…wait for it…misogyny. (A word not invented for another five hundred years, but I digress.) What about failures being the result of recklessness, disorganization, miscalculations, bad friends, no common sense, no leadership skills, a bland personality, failure to communicate, oversleeping, skipping breakfast, or just anything personal? By blaming everything on misogyny they’re saying that nothing is their fault, and everyone else is to blame. Accountability is for all, even those “strong and independent” women.

[Marion] did not hate learning to become a lady at all, she simply hated that she was not simultaneously learning how to become everything else. Who in their right mind would ever think they could—or should—learn “everything else”? That has to be it: Marion is just talented enough to hide her clinical insanity. I mean, she literally has no practical skills and barely passes for a lady and yet she thinks she has the brain power to do all? What kind of arrogance must you have to imagine you could reach omniscience? If she truly thinks she could learn “everything else,” why hasn’t she? Could it be that she has limitations in body and mind? *gasp* Positively shocking.

Marion in a nutshell:

1. She doesn’t know what she’s doing

2. No one likes her overbearing attitude

3. Everything she does ends as an inferno

4. Her reputation is merrily in flames

5. She’s more trouble than she’s worth

But of course it’s not her fault. It’s ye olde misogyny, like it always is.

Caitlin parades her ugly attitude and foolishly doesn’t consider the consequences. Her dearth of sound leadership destroys any chance of respect. And how is she fat? She’s had to survive off stolen goods for years. Does no one find her girth suspicious? I’d wonder if she hasn’t got a secret stash and I’d demand an investigation.

Zinn is awful. A twelve-year-old who thinks she deserves leadership status over adults, degrades people who don’t know what she knows, employs crude humor and insults, and thinks her feisty attitude covers her worthless personality, is beyond saving.

Arable is in her thirties?! That’s alarming. I thought she was sixteen. She acts like it. The concept of teenagers wasn’t invented until the ‘40s so she should be very mature. But no.

I know the author has willfully set aside historical accuracies but this feminist choice is garbage and spits on real women. NOT ALL WOMEN CRAVE POWER. STOP WRITING THEM AS IF THEY DO. Where are the women who don’t try to imitate men? Where are the women who don’t give a flying chip about politics? Where are the women who will gladly command the home? Where are the women who aren’t desperate for head honcho-ness? Where are the women who realize they can’t go it alone? (Looking at you, Arable.) Where are the women who are content to let the men make the choices and take the fallout? Where is Thomas Cromwell when you need him?!

I just read The Mirror & the Light (my review) and I was refreshed to see those women portrayed in an accurate light. It’s infinitely more interesting and inspiring to see women accomplishing things from the shadows while still maintaining their household and womanliness. Why must other historical fiction make women toilet fodder? How about writers stretch a little and get creative? Power-hungry woman are massively overused.

Women hating men and then turning around to complain about misogyny is hypocritical in the extreme and it’s sad they don’t realize that.

Unfortunately, the men aren’t much better. None are worthy of praise because they’re all dirtbags, worthless, unstable, weak, villainous, unchivalrous, or in general, unlikable. I said this book would need “a wise, logical and levelheaded man…” who, sadly, never appeared. I do still kinda like Prince John, but he’s only the best of the worst. I just don’t understand how every character could suck. People can be bad and still likable (The Lies of Locke Lamora comes to mind) but this book can’t manage it. I think the root problems are the rife stupidity, greed, thoughtlessness, and poor leadership. Basically, the men aren’t MEN.

Why is Tuck criticized for his faith? Back then the church was hugely important and powerful. No Englishman would’ve professed atheism, and yet it’s a common thing here. And where did Tuck get his Bible? It would’ve been handwritten (in Latin), ginormous, and rare or not even available outside churches, and yet he has one in the forest. No.

I vaguely recall liking the writing style in the previous book, but now I’m not seeing much to applaud. It’s fine, but whatever made Nottingham special to me is now missing. And enough with the modern swearing! When characters swear in every conversation, they sound like an idiot.

No one is capable of prolonged intelligence, logic, diplomacy, charisma, manners or levelheadedness. The combined folly should result in everyone who didn’t die in this book, dying in the next one. And it would be a better world.

Now that I’ve said my piece, you may be wondering why I even stuck with the book in the first place. Part of it is obligation. I was unable to get an ARC from Netgalley, but since I really wanted to read it, I contacted the publisher and surprisingly they sent me the link. So I figured after the trouble I went through to get it, I should finish it. The other part is I kept hoping something amazing would happen, some last minute twist to make it all worthwhile. Regrettably, nothing made me wish I could have the next book right now.

What could’ve been a great sequel resulted in a loose plot and a cast of characters who fail in every regard. It’s also made me question the goodness of the first one. I’m definitely not anticipating the final book.


One quote for the road:


“Outlaw implies they live outside the law, suggesting there’s a place where rules don’t matter.”


Check out my rating here.

Nottingham review.

And check out my review for the BBC Robin Hood show.


SOME SPOILER THOUGHTS FOR THOSE WHO’VE READ THE BOOK. OR FOR THOSE WHO DON’T CARE BUT WANT TO HEAR SOME EXTRA RANTS.


For possible future reference, the dead include: Arthur (stabbed by Charley/Bolt), Beneger de Wendenal (killer unknown), Caitlin and Alfred (shot by their own crew, ha ha), David (crushed by an oil cask), Nick and Peetey (died helping Robert escape his arrest), and my faith in good fictional females (which was already on life support). I think that’s all.

Marion is treading very close to adultery, another reason not to like her.

Five bucks says Arable will need help from a man when she gets to her new land, despite her assurances that she doesn’t need any help.

It’s some sweet irony how Marion and Arable spout their feminism and then as soon as trouble hits, Arable’s wondering why Amon isn’t there to protect Marion.

Why would Alfred assume that the archery contest would actually result in land for them? Over promise and under deliver is Villainy 101.

Once again Jacelyn did basically nothing. She didn’t even kill Will.

Amon being gay is completely irrelevant to the story. Everyone’s chill attitude toward it is another inaccuracy. He’d have been dead, banished, or at the very least, not a knight.

The greenbeard side quest never lived up to the importance it hinted at. Their whole time trying to enter the Red Lions didn’t need to be drawn out. Caitlin’s perspective also added nothing.

I’m foreseeing some difficulty with Arable’s pregnancy. I also feel sorry for the kid.

I thought the book would end with the real French army arriving.

I was so hoping they’d send Marion and Co. to rescue Richard and they’d all die horribly and it’d be great.

How in the world did Ferrers survive? And why didn’t Ben stab him repeatedly before throwing him out the window? Villain Killing 101: make sure they’re dead.

Marion’s treason charge is *chef’s kiss* If I knew for sure it would result in her death, I would be tempted to read the next book.




58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

All Things Must End

I always knew I wouldn’t be blogging forever. I guess I just didn’t think the end would arrive quite so suddenly. One day I intended to share a recommendation list for winter stories (a little late in

bottom of page