top of page
  • Writer's pictureDamsel

ARC Review: The Peculiarities by David Liss


Genre: Historical fiction, fantasy

Series: Standalone

Page Count: 336

Publication Year: 2021

Publisher: Tachyon Publications

Special Notes: I received a free copy in exchange for an honest and early review. Quotes taken from an uncorrected copy.


Summary: Magic and banking collide in unexpected ways.



We follow Thomas, a bank worker, who lives in a London beset by magical problems which manifest as thick fogs, people growing fur, women giving birth to rabbits and other such Peculiarities. Thomas is becoming a tree. Faced with his impending wooden life, he wants to make sure his family’s bank has a stable future. But it turns out that the bank’s secrets and his own leafy limbs may be connected.

This book is weird, and quite a different experience compared to Liss’ Benjamin Weaver series (which I love and adore). Its weirdness is so close to being bad that at the start I wasn’t sure I’d like it.

I think the plot could’ve been tighter. Maybe if it had a smaller cast or took place in a shorter time frame the wrinkles would’ve smoothed out. I do like it though; it’s got a nice blend of mystery, magic, intrigue, and adventure. The bank, the magical shenanigans, and Thomas fighting against becoming a tree sound like a strange combination but it’s a decent result. However, there is something…off about it. I don’t know what it is, but there’s a persistent blemish on the periphery that tarnishes the whole thing.

One obvious oddity is that it’s written in present tense. I’ve read a lot of books but rarely do I come across anything written in present tense. I don’t dislike that style but I don’t think the book is better because of that choice.

The tone is kinda devil-may-care, so I didn’t feel the danger or urgency. I prefer lighter stories but this crust of levity doesn’t quite mesh with the dangerous London streets and it feels like I’m being pulled in different directions.

Blending historical fiction and fantasy—my two favorite story elements—is a great idea. The history here isn’t at the forefront but it makes for a nice background along the lines of Sherlock Holmes (particularly Robert Downey Jr.’s iteration of Holmes). The use of magic isn’t flashy; it takes the mystical and cultish angle, relying on drawn symbols, talismans, and incantations.

Thomas is very vanilla, but I like him. I don’t think he’s all that charming, interesting or memorable, but he’s determined, not a quitter and at times humorous. He’s a normal guy put in extraordinary circumstances and he makes it fly.

The rest of the cast is what I’ve grown to expect from Liss: a solid collection of foes and friends, but they seem a little less full than his previous books. The women are strong without being overbearing and yet they lack real substance. I learned a few surface traits about them but their voices aren’t distinct nor do they have presence on the page. They’re there, and that’s it.

I love Liss’ description, dialogue and prose in the Weaver series, and it’s slightly watered down here. Maybe it’s because I read an early copy but it doesn’t feel as lush and striking as his other books, though I can still see everything clearly and there are some great lines.

Thomas believes he has done a fine job of remaining sane the past weeks, but it has been a taxing day, and surely no one would blame him if he simply went mad.

He does not want to start talking about maths, however. There is nothing that makes a man sound less heroic.

There are swords and spears and wands, some displayed as though museum pieces, others simply lying about as though Crowley might have need to grab a spear at any moment and—who can say?—hurl it at an astral antelope. Anything is possible.

As often happens when a man discusses mathematics, the room remains silent.

Thomas sets aside his outrage and shock and disgust. It is time to panic.

I wanted it to be more like the Weaver books and since it’s quite dissimilar, I am a bit disappointed. However, I still think it’s a good, entertaining story, one I may even revisit. I will certainly continue to read his books, both past and future.



Check out my rating here.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

All Things Must End

I always knew I wouldn’t be blogging forever. I guess I just didn’t think the end would arrive quite so suddenly. One day I intended to share a recommendation list for winter stories (a little late in

bottom of page