top of page
  • Writer's pictureDamsel

Most Read Authors

I've kept track of my reading for the past twelve years. In that time, I’ve come across the books of over two hundred authors and estimated that I’ve read only one book from about half of them. I have a list of all the authors and looking at them for this post I was alerted to the fact that I have no clue what book I read of some of these authors. But others have made lasting impressions by reading many of their works. So here are the authors I’ve returned to at least ten times.


Gertrude Chandler Warner

Number of books I read: I shudder to think

The Boxcar Children series is the most important thing to happen in my reading life. Since I didn’t grasp the concept of reading until I was ten, these books were a great gateway to reading and I put many hours of my life into that series. Never again though.

I think Warner wrote only about twenty mysteries and then the publishing company kept ghost writing more and more books and those are the ones I read in excess. If I had to guess, I’d say I read about a hundred, maybe more.

Favorite book: They’re all just a massive blur. I think there’s one that has the word “knight” in the title that was pretty good.


Garth Nix

Number of books I read: 27


I’m not surprised to see him at the (true) top. But I am surprised by just how many books of his I’ve read. He was a big part of my early and teen reading years. He has this combination of good world-building, good story ideas and memorable characters. Some of his books—the two sci-fi ones stick out—aren’t as amazing, but I haven’t hated any of his books and that’s a good track record.

Favorite book: Don’t ask me to choose! Maybe Sabriel. Or The Ragwitch. Or Drowned Wednesday. Or…


Martha Finley

Number of books I read: 24


This is technically not an accurate number because while the stories I’ve read are attributed to her, it’s the publishing company’s abridged/adapted versions that I read. I did read one of her original books and I should read the rest of them. One of these days.

The best part of her stories is that they’re just good stories. No one saves the world or discovers untold powers or does anything remotely fantastical…but sometimes the simplest lives are the ones worth reading.

Favorite book: I read three series and the best one is Elsie Dinsmore’s. I do not remember the individual books well enough to pick a favorite.


John Flanagan

Number of books I read: 16


Another influential author. He’s one of the few authors to write about a different world that doesn’t have magic, and that inspired me to take a similar route with my own book. He created some of my favorite characters and he stands out as an author of quality and uniqueness among his YA peers. Much like Nix, none of his books are straight up bad. And listening to the audiobooks is a treat.

Favorite book: Erak’s Ransom or perhaps The Battle for Skandia.


Lois Gladys Leppard

Number of books I read: 16


I don’t know why I read so many of the Mandie books. I think I stuck with it so long because it was before I realized it’s okay to not finish a series.

The characters were annoying and no one ever seemed to grow up or learn from their mistakes. And the stories were boring. I should’ve quit sooner.

Favorite book: None of them.


Rick Riordan

Number of books I read: 16


Oh Rick, what happened to you? Actually, I know the answer. It’s the modern mindset that everything has to be diverse. The Percy Jackson series is really good and the Heroes of Olympus has some greatness too (I have very little memory of the Kane Chronicles). But after that they start to go downhill.

In their heyday, they taught me about Greek/Roman/Egyptian mythologies and showed me some absolutely hilarious storytelling and dialogue. Unfortunately, I don’t think I’ll ever read any of his other books.

Favorite book: It might actually be The Maze of Bones, the first book in the 39 Clues series, which was then written by several other authors. It was such a surprise and he drew me in with his witty writing.


Carolyn Meyer

Number of books I read: 15


I wouldn’t say Meyer is a stellar writer, but I have always learned something from her books. She also pushed me in the direction of Tudor England, which is now my jam. She writes easy-to-digest and informative historical fiction and that’s what I read her books for.

Favorite book: In Mozart’s Shadow and Doomed Queen Anne.


Gerald Morris

Number of books I read: 14

This is the only author on the list whose entire book history I’ve read. I would love to hear more from him. His books are funny, adventurous, mystical (they’re about King Arthur’s knights and their squires), and then they’re sad and frustrating. Not all of his books are good but I’d still recommend his Squire’s Tales series.

Favorite book: I can’t pick just one. The first three in the series are the best.


Chuck Black

Number of books I read: 12


This is one author where I could see a marked improvement in the books as they progressed. I read his two connected series, The Kingdom and Knights of Arrethtrae, and for what they are, they’re good.

What they are is Christian…fantasy? It’s set in a medieval-esque world and the first series is an allegory for some Bible stories. There’s a Saul/Paul character and a horse that represents Noah’s ark and other stuff that I’ve forgotten (it’s been like a decade since I read them). And the spin-off series continues it’s biblical messages.

I don’t remember how the influence of the Bible comes across, whether it’s preachy or not, but it’s a really cool idea. There are also discussion questions, pictures, and music pieces.

Favorite book: Sir Kendrick and the Castle of Bel Lione.


D. J. MacHale

Number of books I read: 10

The Pendragon series is another result of, “I didn’t know I could quit.” I listened to this entire series and looking at the list of books I’m not remembering a whole lot. It’s a great example of being neither good nor bad.

It’s about this boy who goes to a bunch of different worlds in the hopes of stopping the bad guy from doing whatever it was he wanted to do. And at the end there’s this memory wipe so he can live his life without guilt. Or something. But then his mentor gives him the diaries he wrote on his adventures and it’s just plain weird. If it was fresh in my mind, I could probably pick out what bothered me. But eight years on and I’m left with no strong feelings on either side. It’s just kinda there.

Favorite book: I think it’s probably The Never War, because that one simply went back in time and I learned a bit about the Hindenburg.


John Steinbeck

Number of books I read: 10


Let’s end it on a high note. Steinbeck is one of my top classic authors and top author in general. He had this ability to write about the most mundane things and make it vastly interesting. I haven’t liked all his stories, but I always appreciate how they’re written.

Favorite book: The Red Pony, since it was my introduction to his work.



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

All Things Must End

I always knew I wouldn’t be blogging forever. I guess I just didn’t think the end would arrive quite so suddenly. One day I intended to share a recommendation list for winter stories (a little late in

bottom of page