top of page
  • Writer's pictureDamsel

ReReading Harry Potter for the First Time: The Goblet of Fire


Genre: Fantasy

Series: Harry Potter #4

Page Count: 734

Publication Year: 2000

Publisher: Scholastic Inc.


Summary: Harry participates in a competition that kills people.


We have now reached the point of the reread where I’m remembering bits from the book. I think we must’ve first started the series around the time when this movie was released because I recall seeing it in theaters and being displeased with the adaptational choices. I don’t know why though, so let’s see what’s what.


Unlike my previous HP reviews, this will be riddled with SPOILERS.


Right off the bat I must say this is much better than the movie. There are only two things I think it did better, and that’s having Neville give Harry the gillyweed (because I can’t stand Dobby) and having dancing lessons. The book’s details are sorely missed in the movie.

It’s always nice when a long book doesn’t feel long. What contributes to this book’s brisk pace is the altered formula. It’s no longer just trouble at home, classes at Hogwarts, a bit o’ mystery, and the conclusion. The new format makes it feel more like a proper novel. Not only are the characters interacting in more normal ways, but the outside world is coming into play and that allows further depth for the story and something else to interest readers.

However…

This is a “soft” magic system i.e. the rules are flexible and it’s all a bit vague on what you can/can’t do. That can work, but a lot of stuff doesn’t make sense or is extremely convenient. Barty Jr., who hasn’t done much magic in recent years, is able to hoodwink magical artifacts because…magic. Mrs. Weasley conjures food from…somewhere. The provided guidelines for portkeys are thrown aside at the end because…it makes for a dramatic entrance. Voldemort has access to a body-regenerating potion because…of course dark magic recipes are never destroyed. I know I’m overanalyzing things and obviously this is written for kids and they’re not known for critical thinking, but it’s disappointing that a world as famous as HP falls apart when you get a couple questions deep.

Perhaps these issues have answers but aren’t in the books. This series has grown exponentially beyond the original text, putting casual HP fans like myself at a disadvantage because I don’t know all the extra lore. I feel like I need to research the Wiki articles to get my answers instead of finding them in the written material. I don’t mind learning more about this world but some questions shouldn’t be left unanswered in the books. Also, how and why are there articles for literally everything in this series?

All my previously mentioned complaints/comments about the writing style and description still stand. The shape of Harry’s scar is mentioned AGAIN, which isn’t necessary at this point. I do think the vocabulary has leveled up though. This is when the darker tone starts and I’m expecting things to be different going forward.

Side note: The fact that no one owns land for the World Cup/other magical events is monumentally shortsighted.

The story starts with Harry getting an invitation to see the Quidditch World Cup with the Weasley’s and Uncle Vernon is not having it. But all Harry has to do is casually invoke Sirius’ name to get Uncle Vernon to fold, which I love. I also love how supportive, caring and welcoming the Weasley’s are to Harry.

I remember when we first saw the movie, my mom thought the Tournament was rubbish for the spectators, and it really is. Aside from the dragons, you can’t see a thing that happens. Granted, the dragons are the most exciting thing to watch, but why bother having spectators if they spend two-thirds of the time watching nothing?

I did not expect Cedric’s death to hit me like it did. My mom thought I was coming down with a cold because I kept sniffling. When he says, “Take my body back to my parents,” man, that…uh…yeah.

You know how villain monologues are frowned upon? In all his wisdom, Voldemort expounds on his miraculous return to life while Harry is sitting RIGHT THERE. Why wouldn’t Voldemort instantly zap Harry to show his power and then yap to his cronies? Instead he lets Harry whoop his butt again and tell everyone of Voldemort’s return. Nice planning.

One last thing about the story, I like that there’s setup for Umbridge’s appointment at Hogwarts in the form of Dumbledore and Fudge’s disagreement.

Once again, Harry is a solid protagonist. He’s still an idiot at times and he hasn’t learned how to use his resources a.k.a. anyone or anything at Hogwarts. He does use the library this time around, but he completely ignores the herb pro in his own dormitory. Idiocy aside, he’s so brave, generous, humorous, and he practically laughs in the face of pain. I was surprised how understanding he is about Hermione’s friendship with Krum. And when he gives that sack of money to Fred and George so they can fund their joke shop…I just…it’s so precious. But now Harry’s lost his childish innocence after seeing Cedric die, so fingers crossed he doesn’t take a nosedive.

Let’s talk about Ron. I thought he and his animosity with Harry in the movie was annoying. I get it now. He’s constantly eclipsed by Harry’s fame and it’s finally getting to him. I understand his desire to get out of his family’s shadow and while his attitude is childish, his frustration at Harry is warranted. His line, “Why is everything I own rubbish?” speaks to me on a deep level. Like Ron, I don’t come from a wealthy family so seeing a poor character is refreshing and relatable.

Hermione’s obsession over house elves is not as agonizing as I imagined it would be. Her reasoning is still dumb (they live to serve and obey and she wants to take away their point for living) but it could be worse. Her friendship with Krum is sweet…until you remember she’s a minor and he isn’t, which makes it awkward and sketchy. Her teaching Harry spells further highlights what a pathetic wizard he is and how capable she is.

Obviously one of the main drawbacks of the movie is the lack of Sirius. I love how supportive he is of Harry in this book. And him explaining something to the trio they “wouldn’t understand” is the kind of adult cooperation I’ve been wanting from this series. He’s the one adult whose personality makes him accessible to the trio. He also sends Harry a birthday cake. What a guy.

I love it when people who hate each other are forced to work together because they’re on the same side. So that handshake between Snape and Sirius is perfection. I wish that part could’ve been in the movie.

Dumbledore, despite being an important character, hasn’t gotten much page time. This time, however, he has more involvement and I like him. He’s a good wizard and a bulwark against Fudge’s maddening incompetency.

I can definitely see why this series is so beloved. It hits that spot between childish fun and genuinely good storytelling. People can trash on this series all they want—and I would definitely agree with them on some points—but it doesn’t diminish the fact that I’m liking it.


Check out my rating here.

My reviews for book one, two, three, five, six and seven.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

All Things Must End

I always knew I wouldn’t be blogging forever. I guess I just didn’t think the end would arrive quite so suddenly. One day I intended to share a recommendation list for winter stories (a little late in

bottom of page