top of page
  • Writer's pictureDamsel

Review: A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman


Genre: Fiction

Series: Standalone

Page Count: 337

Publication Year: 2014 (first published in 2012)

Publisher: Atria Books

Special Notes: Translated from Swedish by Henning Koch.


Summary: In which being friendly is just a bit too much to ask.



I thought this book would totally float my boat. And for a while it did. But then I just…stopped liking it.

The story follows Ove, a grumpy old man who lives by himself. He gets new neighbors and his transformation begins. Just from those two sentences you can make an educated guess as to what happens, and you’d probably be right. Knowing the outcome of a story doesn’t kill the entertainment, so let’s look at what did and did not work for me.


Pros:


Ove. Grumpy old man is an archetype I fully support and Ove does a good job of earning my support. He’s set in his ways and doesn’t compromise much, often scoffing at others around him for the inefficient and unskilled fools they are, but he’s not wrong. He’s a hard worker who’s frustrated at how useless the populace has become. I can’t help but like a man who has routines and good principles and who’s not afraid to share his opinions.

…they’d managed to build the Eiffel Tower in 1889, but nowadays one couldn’t come up with the bloody drawings for a one-story house without taking a break for someone to run off and recharge their cell phone.


He has never taken any narcotics. Has hardly even been affected by alcohol. Has never liked the feeling of losing control. He’s come to realize over the years that it’s this very feeling that normal folk like and strive for, but as far as Ove is concerned only a complete bloody airhead could find loss of control a state worth aiming for.


“A lower-arm amputee with cataracts could have backed this trailer more accurately than you.”


But underneath the grumps is a man struggling through his grief and loss. At the end of the day, he strongly cares for people on a subterranean level.

She often said that “all roads lead to something you were always predestined to do.” And for her, perhaps, it was something. But for Ove it was someone.


The humor. Because of the death/grief themes, some people might find Ove’s/the narrator’s dry wit insensitive and offensive. I don’t. I think in most cases if you can include humor it’s a good thing.


“CLAAUUWN,” the toddler howls, jumping up and down on the bench in a way that finally convinces Ove that the kid is on drugs.


It was quite difficult to determine whether he was just an unusually large cat or an outstandingly small lion. And you should never befriend something if there’s a possibility it may take a fancy to eating you in your sleep.


The writing. He’s a talented writer, especially since this was his first book. The story is split between the present and past and it’s done in such a way that I didn’t strongly prefer one over the other. The writing style isn’t complicated by any means and yet its simplicity didn’t detract from my enjoyment. This praise will sound like a contradiction given what I’m about to say, so think of it as the author having the right ingredients, but the wrong instructions.


And then they rose to their feet, objective and determined, in the way two men might behave if they had just agreed to go and kill a third man.


Cons:

The emotional impact. There isn’t one. I expected this huge swell of feelings as Ove showed/gained his humanity and love. That’s not what I got. I’m empty and indifferent at his transformation. Sure, it has some touching moments, but I’ve felt equally sad over those Budweiser horse/dog commercials. I’m not coldhearted (those beer commercials have no right being that touching) but this book went from potential heartbreaking wonderfulness to generic sad story. I didn’t see anything unique or especially meaningful in Ove’s grief and renewal. I can understand how someone could get to his position; however, in this instance, I have no sympathy for him.


The other characters. Honestly, I’m annoyed just thinking about them. They’re just…there. They bore me. I felt no spark, connection, humor, life. One person’s entire point for being in this book is to be gay and he’s not necessary. What the author could’ve done is cut out several of the characters and strengthen the rest, thus improving the story. I like strong characters whose personality you remember and can describe in decent detail. He had this great opportunity to make fleshed-out people and I think he blew it.

The ending. Like I said, I knew/strongly suspected where it was going, but man, I was disappointed. I had every intention of really liking this book and then the last quarter trampled my goodwill. Everything that happened simply served to tie all the loose ends and give whatever happily ever afters were required. It’s obligatory and sappy rather than interesting and impactful. What I want from regular fiction is a more realistic but not completely depressing approach to life. This flirts with whimsical elements and that’s not what I wanted or expected.


Could be a pro or con:


The similes. They can work like butter on toast, but I think they’re overused here. Some of them are quite good and then at times it seems like he really wanted to use a simile even when it was poorly imagined or unnecessary.


The translation. Any translated book that comes out to be a cohesive story is a success. In this case, some sentences don’t flow well and I think a few commas and words are missing.


This is the type of story that’s supposed to stick with you, but I know it won’t for me. I’m bummed, and not in the good way.

I do want to try another book by this author because this was his first one and I’ve heard really good things about him. I know there’s potential, he just needs stronger characters and creative endings.



Check out my rating here.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

All Things Must End

I always knew I wouldn’t be blogging forever. I guess I just didn’t think the end would arrive quite so suddenly. One day I intended to share a recommendation list for winter stories (a little late in

bottom of page