top of page
  • Writer's pictureDamsel

Review: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen


Genre: Classic

Series: Standalone

Page Count: 279

Publication Year: 1813

Publisher: Thomas Egerton

Special Notes: I read the unabridged version, so the wonky spellings in the quotes are intentional.


Summary:

“I love you.”

“I don’t love you.”

“I still love you.”

“Of course I’ll marry you.”




I can not tell you how many times I’ve watched the 2005 movie. It’s one of my all-time favorite movies.

This is my first Austen book.

You know that saying, “The book is always better than the movie?” I know this will sound akin to sacrilege but…I like the 2005 movie better. Put down your dueling sabers and allow me to elaborate.


COMPLETE SPOILERS AHEAD


Okay. Well. This is not what I expected. Being very familiar with the plot I hoped the book would expand it and maybe have some other scenes to enjoy. It doesn’t. Sure, the movie cut some characters and moments for the sake of runtime, but I don’t think the book’s better for having them. There isn’t a scene in the book that I wished had been in the movie, which I don’t think has ever happened in an adaptation.

What makes the movie better is that it took the key parts of the book—plot, characters, setting, language—and distilled them, while perfectly preserving and honoring the source. That’s not something I see often in adaptations and that success it what makes it outstanding. I can watch the film and feel like I’ve read the book, which is what I want an adaptation to do.

Of course the book has things the movie can’t/didn’t do, so let’s discuss those.

The most interesting part of delving into Elizabeth’s mindset is her observances of her parents. This part about her father particularly caught my attention:

Elizabeth, however, had never been blind to the impropriety of her father’s behaviour as a husband. She had always seen it with pain; but respecting his abilities, and grateful for his affectionate treatment of herself, she endeavoured to forget what she could not overlook, and to banish from her thoughts that continual breach of conjugal obligation and decorum which, in exposing his wife to the contempt of her own children, was so highly reprehensible.


Hearing that she knows he’s not a great father changes my perspective of both people. Later in the book she’s very aware of how her family behaves around Darcy and happy when the Gardiners prove praiseworthy. She’s forced to objectively view her family and it puts her in the path of change, a change that is nice to see not only in her, but fiction in general.

Her prejudice against Darcy and unwillingness to accept him as anything other than her first impression is shown and rectified in a believable manner. I like how she’s quick-witted and doesn’t demur from sharing her true thoughts. She’s a good example of the strong heroine who isn’t the “strong and independent” type so prevalent today.

I don’t normally slap the introvert/extrovert label on characters, but realizing Darcy is an introvert helps me understand him. Would I approach strangers and ask them to dance? Pfft, no. That’s combining two of my least favorite things: strangers and dancing. And I know for a fact that I would stay extremely close to my friends in such a place as a ballroom full of strangers. But I would quietly observe my friend’s relationship and manipulate it if the occasion required. And I’d write a letter detailing my past actions because I think clearer in the luxury of the written word. I get Darcy. He is real and vivid. There are a few bits from his perspective but I’d’ve liked more.

I always had the impression that Darcy sent Lady Catherine to Elizabeth. Turns out, she’s only reacting to a rumor. As a fellow introvert, I gotta say that asking someone to have that conversation with Elizabeth is definitely an available option and I think that’s what should’ve happened.

I almost feel sorry for Caroline. She tries to get Darcy’s attention and he is having none of it. I like how at the end she decides to forget her pursuit of Darcy and animosity toward Elizabeth in favor of being able to visit Pemberley. What a false friend.

Lydia and Wickham. She is as much of an idiot here as in the movie, perhaps more so. I would not stand to be around such a self-centered, insipid, whiny person. Today, someone like Wickham would be destroyed. But the reason he’s able to get Lydia is because Darcy refused to ruin him since manners and reputation are more important…? (I’ve thought on that a bit more and I can see why Darcy would let it slide. The reputation of someone went a long way in ensuring their success in life. If Darcy destroyed him he might’ve ended up a beggar and dead by winter. Living with Lydia was punishment enough.) Elizabeth knew that their marriage would not be happy and I have to say that they deserve the unhappiness. Collins put it this way:


Let me advise you then, my dear Sir, to console yourself as much as possible, to throw off your unworthy child from your affection for ever, and leave her to reap the fruits of her own heinous offence.


Yep, that’s what she deserves. Their part only lasts about twenty pages but those are some rough pages to read. No one wants to sit through twenty pages of Lydia/Wickham drama.

The characters who aren’t in the movie are perfectly fine staying out of the story. There’s Bingley’s extended family, Charlotte’s family, and the other aunt and uncle. The bits they contribute aren’t essential and the way they’re actions are parceled out in the movie works fine. I will say that Collins’ everything is concentrated here and I don’t know how Charlotte could stand it.

The language of this book is part of what makes it an enduring classic. The insults, praises, repartee, compliments and condemnations all thinly veiled by upper crust lingo and sideways insinuations truly are impressive. But I think there’s more than one reason why it isn’t used today. Take Georgiana’s reaction to Elizabeth and Darcy’s engagement:

The joy Miss Darcy expressed on receiving similar information, was as sincere as her brother’s in sending it. Four sides of paper were insufficient to contain all her delight, and all her earnest desire of being loved by her sister.


Four sides?! Why does she need forever to get her point across? There comes a time when adding more words dilutes any true sincerity. Just cut the cheese and toast the bread; don’t give me a lecture while the sandwiches get stale. I suppose that’s just how it was back then. They had to apologize, prepare, or console before they even reached the meat of the conversation. I personally don’t want people to dance around the bush. I’ll allow room for artistic expression, but don’t spend a paragraph building to a simple answer.

It doesn’t help that the prevarication and confabulation are written in an awkward style that forced me to often reread parts. The vocabulary isn’t too hard but the syntax is not fun to wade through. Maybe I’m thick for not immediately comprehending what they’re saying but I don’t appreciate having to reread sentences of dialogue to understand their meaning. The movie keeps the meaning and zing while cutting the flabby bits.

I know a lot of people think it’s beautifully and hilariously written. I won’t flat out disagree, but I’ve laughed harder and seen more memorable prose in the likes of Terry Pratchett and John Steinbeck, respectively. Most of the book is dialogue (something I love) but a good deal of it is…boring? It’s all highbrow and apologetic and it didn’t grab me. Quit the bush dancing and dive in.

It’s a short book and yet it feels curiously long. Frankly, I had to push myself a bit to finish. I don’t care what commentaries this book has on marriage, money and manners if it can’t do it in an engaging way. I love the story, but there’s not nearly enough Darcy and too much prolongation of everything else to tempt me into liking this book more.

Even if someone went point-by-point on why Austen was a brilliant writer, I don’t think it would make me like her work more. Just because it’s said that someone is a skilled writer doesn’t mean I’ll agree and unless things take a wild turn, I can’t see viewing Austen with anything other than ambivalence. But I’ll give her another chance or two.

In the end, it’s a book; I read it; and I don’t see myself ever reading it again. I will certainly watch the movie many more times. I might just be too attached to the movie to see the book without prejudice.



Check out my rating here.



26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

All Things Must End

I always knew I wouldn’t be blogging forever. I guess I just didn’t think the end would arrive quite so suddenly. One day I intended to share a recommendation list for winter stories (a little late in

bottom of page