top of page
  • Writer's pictureDamsel

Review: The Abbot's Tale by Conn Iggulden


Genre: Historical fiction

Series: Standalone

Page Count: 464

Publication Year: 2018

Publisher: Pegasus Books

Special Note: It was originally published under the title Dunstan.


Summary: The story of a tenth-century monk, which is somehow not as boring as it sounds.



One of the reasons I like this book is because it reminds me of one of my favorite tv shows, The Last Kingdom (which is based off a book series). A reason other people might not like it is because Dunstan, the protagonist, is an arrogant jerk.

The story is about the real person, Dunstan, from his childhood in a monastery to becoming an archbishop. I’d never heard of him—English saints aren’t a hot topic for me—but I found it interesting. It was a time when that part of Britain constantly had to deal with invaders and, as I found out, the uncertainty of young kings. Turns out back then they had just as much corruption, greed, jealousy, blackmail, murder, schemes and mayhem as today. It really is an engaging time to read about.

So, Dunstan. He is quite the character. Almost immediately it’s shown that he is ruthless, calculating, vengeful, power hungry, and mildly unfeeling of those around him. The way he treats his brother for most of their lives is contemptible. Dunstan frequently views people only as a way to get what he wants. If you’re hoping for a redemption arc, you’re not getting one. All those traits increase their scope and sharpen to deadly efficiency as he grows. And despite the crooked mind he has, he thinks he’s the hottest commodity around and if everyone can’t see his worth, they’re the fools. At one point, this woman dies and he says that if they’d asked him to attend her, she’d still be alive. Like, chill dude, you’re not that powerful. But at the same time it’s refreshing to see such a person as the protagonist. I know he’s not a selfless person by any means and yet when he’s betrayed or feels the hand of injustice, I am right there with him waiting and cheering for his triumph over his enemies. Cruelty aside, I am rooting for this guy and it’s easy to since he does make mistakes and has regrets.

I don’t doubt that Dunstan’s true character was similar to the one portrayed here. To rise through the ranks of that time and be remembered to this day must’ve taken quite the mind and drive. He doesn’t shy away from taking what he wants or manipulating others into helping him get it. His motives are rarely pure and no matter how much he says he’s doing for the Church, you know that it’s more for his own glorification and fame. It makes me wonder how many of these “saints” were actually rotten to the core.

The narration in this book is retrospective first person (I don’t know if that’s a real term, but it is now.) As an old man, Dunstan is recalling his life and is therefore allowed to cheat the narrative by revealing when bad things are about to happen, whether it’s someone’s death or a poor choice he made. But even with the suspense more or less neutered, I was still excited about all the twists and changes. Knowing what’s coming didn’t lessen my enjoyment. I didn’t know when or how it would appear or what would come after, so I didn’t lose my desire to finish the story.

Sometimes the writing style is awkward, but not hard to understand. I didn’t have trouble following the story.

What I didn’t like is the description of the construction of the abbey. Pulleys, masonry, arches, sketches and such of a place that no longer exists don’t thrill me. (However, the pulleys serve an important purpose when he lets a whole flock of people believe he was carried from the top of a tower by angels when he really used pulleys to descend. He then utilizes his “angelic salvation” to get him to the king and closer to building his abbey. See? Exemplary personality.) Maybe it’s because all the money and time spent on it went into inflating Dunstan’s ego. There’s something to be said for leaving a legacy, but is shrewdly acquiring, then spending, oodles of money to brazenly advertise your achievement really the way to do it? I appreciate the time the author must’ve taken toward accuracy but it didn’t increase my reading experience.

I’d recommend not skipping the historical note because it provides fascinating extra information.

I enjoyed the book. I think a ruthless man in a ruthless time make for a good story and I’ll definitely check out more of this author’s work.


Favorite quote:

A father gives strength and makes a man. A mother tempers that iron with tears and her love. Too much of either makes weakness.


Check out my rating here.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

All Things Must End

I always knew I wouldn’t be blogging forever. I guess I just didn’t think the end would arrive quite so suddenly. One day I intended to share a recommendation list for winter stories (a little late in

bottom of page