top of page
  • Writer's pictureDamsel

Review: The Robe by Lloyd C. Douglas


Genre: Classic, Historical fiction

Series: Standalone

Page Count: 612

Publication Year: 1942

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin


Summary: A Roman becomes a Christian.



At first I had very high hopes for this book but things petered out about halfway.


The story follows Marcellus as he goes from proud Roman citizen, to captain of a backwater post, to depressed artist, to curious wanderer and finally, confident compatriot to the Christian cause. We also hear from Roman and Jewish companions and enemies, as well as Marcellus’ Greek slave Demetrius, and his journey toward freedom.

For the most part, I like the story. I think the beginning, where Marcellus assumes his role as garrison captain, is especially well written. The first third is a solid four stars. But then we have the rest of the book.


Pros:


Marcellus and Demetrius. I love their friendship. Slavery is normally portrayed in a horrible light, but here they observe the master/slave dynamic while still having honest conversations and genuinely caring about each other’s wellbeing—even when their social circumstances change. They have such a good relationship that I saw them as an outrageously competent version of Bertie and Jeeves from P. G. Woodhouse’s books (my review for the first two Jeeves books). I will always be a sucker for a good bromance and this ticks that box.


The prose. As I already said, this has some gosh darn fine writing. He creates really good visuals, conversations and in general, an engaging story.


It was a desolate country, practically uninhabited. Small herds of wild goats, almost indistinguishable from the jagged brown rocks on the treeless hillsides, grouped to stare an absurd defiance of any attempted trespass upon their domain. In the valleys, the spring rains had fraudulently invited an occasional tuft of vegetation to believe it had a chance of survival. Beside a blistered water-hole a brave little clump of violets drooped with thirst.


The Clytia made no attempt to pamper her passengers. Indeed, it was doubtful whether any other craft plying between Ostia and Piraeus was equipped to offer so comprehensive an assortment of discomforts.

“There’s not much dignity left in a nation that has no respect for the words and works of geniuses who gave the world whatever wisdom and beauty it owns!”

It was evident that all business in the Holy City was so full of mendacity that a man who gave evidence of an honest purpose was immediately suspected of rank imposture.


Talking about Rome: The noise had a new significance. It symbolized the confounded outcry of a competitive world that had always done everything the hard way, the mean way, and had very little to show for its sweat and passion. It knew no peace, had never known peace, and apparently didn’t want any peace.

It was as if the Imperial City had reached out her malevolent arms in all directions to clutch and pollute her victims as they moved into the orbit of her fetid breath; and they, ashamed of their rustic simplicities, had sought to appear urbane by cursing one another.


The Roman history. I don’t know much about Roman emperors but every time the author talked about Tiberius, Caligula and other Roman stuff, the story became much better. And it’s nice to have my passing knowledge of Roman gods put to use.


Being “in” on the the Biblical information. You don’t have to be a Christian to read this book, but you would appreciate it more if you read the Gospels and Acts. It certainly made me want to reread them. I think it’s interesting to hear the author’s speculation about how the apostles’ work attracted a bunch of freeloaders instead of just earnest believers. And I like seeing familiar faces like Peter, Saul/Paul, and, of course, Jesus.


Cons:


Overused words. Yes, it’s still well written but that doesn’t mean it couldn’t have used a final polish. I’ve never seen “sauntered” and “drawled” bandied about quite so often. I opened to a random page and “inquired” appears three times.


Omitted parts. At one point Marcellus and Demetrius are separated and we hear of Demetrius’ adventures in a letter he sends. I’d’ve actually preferred to see his journey firsthand because based on the rest of the non-Christian related events, it would’ve been really good. I don’t know if the author wanted to try to convert people, but I think he could have cut out some of Marcellus’ conversion without the story suffering.


The women. They come from a variety of lifestyles, yet they all sound the same and are overly emotional and boring. Their descriptions don’t help either; they’re beautiful and shapely with perfect skin to boot. It’s like their sole purpose is to add some femininity but no character or likability, kinda along the lines of Lucy from A Tale of Two Cities (my review).

The “Christian” message. This is awkward. I suppose I should’ve expected it to go this way, but I don’t think I could’ve foreseen it being this wrong. This book goes directly against what the Bible says. It doesn’t condemn idolaters, it scoffs at self-defense (it says Jesus didn’t defend himself, so neither should you), and the overall theme is that Jesus loves EVERYONE.* This book is not an accurate representation of the Bible, much less Jesus.

I think Marcellus and Demetrius have better personalities and stronger characterization when they’re heathens, which is bad, because a true Christian—especially in that time period—would be a sight to behold.

This quote from Marcellus at the end really toasts my socks:


“Many generations of our people have said their prayers to Jupiter, and my King is not jealous of that homage. He has compassion upon every man’s longing to abide under the shadow of some sheltering wing. Jesus did not come into the world to denounce that aspiration, but to invite all who love truth and mercy to listen to his voice—and walk in his way.” **



Could be a pro or con:

Modern dialogue. This won’t bother everyone, but when I read historical fiction I like it when the characters don’t sound modern. It’s not terrible here and it does make things easy to understand, but it’s a pet peeve of mine.


Overall, I expected better with such a strong start but the Christian aspects don’t work for me. That’s a shame, since it’s kinda the point of the book. I will check out the movie though.


*Most people think John 3:16 says that Jesus loves everyone in the entire world, but it does not. The word "world" in John 3:16 does not mean everyone on the entire planet any more than the word "world" means everyone on the entire planet in John 7:7, 14:16-17, 17:9, 18:20, 1 Corinthians 11:32, or 1 John 3:13. Nowhere does the Bible say God loves everyone.

**Some of God's words on idolators: Exodus 20:4-6, 1 Corinthians 6:9-10, Isaiah 41:29, 42:17, 44:9-20; Jeremiah 10:14-15; Leviticus 19:4; Matthew 12:30; 1 John 5:20-21


Check out my rating here.

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

All Things Must End

I always knew I wouldn’t be blogging forever. I guess I just didn’t think the end would arrive quite so suddenly. One day I intended to share a recommendation list for winter stories (a little late in

bottom of page