top of page
  • Writer's pictureDamsel

Movies I Watched Recently #5


Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street


A musical revenge with a side of horrendous pies.

I won’t say I like this movie but I appreciate how vastly different (musical format aside) it is from every other movie I’ve seen. It’s not a horror movie in the traditional sense; instead it shows what horrors humans can become, which may be more terrifying than a child staring at you from the end of a hallway. On second thought, no it’s not.

I don’t know if I could pick out Tim Burton’s directing style in a crowd, but I do think these visuals would work perfectly for an H.P. Lovecraft story. That romanticized and probably completely inaccurate Victorian aesthetic is my preferred route toward the dark and gritty side of things. The costumes are some of the best I’ve seen recently.

It has more music than I expected but there are only one or two songs I’d listen to again. If you watch it, prepare to have at least one song on repeat. *sings in head* I feeeeeellll yooouuuuu Joooohhaaaaaaaannnnnaaa NO! MAKE IT STOP!



Maid in Manhatten


A hotel maid catches the eye of a political candidate.


I like the idea but the execution is a bit empty. Like all romcoms, you know where it’s going, so it’s really a matter of how memorable the characters are. With the exception of Stanley Tucci’s character, none of them stand out. I’d recommend The Wedding Planner instead.







Legally Blonde


A blonde makes it to Harvard in hopes of convincing her boyfriend to come back to her.

Is it possible to pull a 180º and make it to Harvard after studying for one summer? I’m gonna go out on a limb and say “no.” I have the impression that Harvard has higher standards than what’s shown in this movie.

That being said, it’s not as painful as I expected. She made the mistake of throwing herself at the guy and that made her desperate and blind for most of the movie. I’ve seen worse romcoms. On a scale of mild cheddar to a table of cheese fondue, it’s like a medium wheel gradually picking up speed to Fondueville.


He’s Just Not That Into You


A group of people have relationship problems.

Are people this pathetic in real life? I’m so glad I don’t have any of these problems. What’s more unattractive than a woman throwing herself at men who clearly aren’t interested? Thinking that it’s okay to throw yourself at men who clearly aren’t interested. If anything, this movie is a great example of what not to do.


The Phantom of the Opera


A love triangle between a singer, a singer, and another singer.


When the opening theme begins: chills.

I first saw this movie when I was 9, but now I actually know what’s going on. And I gotta say, I like it. It’s not my favorite musical but it gets extra points for having the Phantom.

Manipulation, creepy obsession, and murder aside, I feel sorry for the Phantom. He only wants someone to love him, to see the man behind the disfigurement so he doesn’t spend the rest of his life alone. Can I give him a hug? Also, more bonus points for Gerard Butler.

It’s a nice touch making Christine’s clothing go from white, to black, to black and white, and back to white.

Andrew Lloyd Webber created some fantastic songs, both in lyrics and melody. I mean, c’mon, “Anywhere you go let me go too.” How could I say no?

Two questions:

What was he eating down there in the sewers?

Did anyone buy the chandelier?


The Ghost and Mrs. Muir

A woman moves to a seaside cottage that’s haunted by a ghost.


I wanted the story to go in a slightly altered direction but the way it goes is good enough.

The highlight is Rex Harrison. He makes an excellent sea captain and delivers his lines with plenty of dashing charm.

It’s a lonely story, propelled by all the characters struggling to survive in a variety of unhappy or uncertain places. There are moments of brightness and success but they’re tainted with the nagging notion that something bad is going to happen.

I wanted more interactions between the woman and ghost and a bit fuller of an ending instead of the slow march toward its conclusion. It’s decent but it could’ve been better.



Movies I Watched Recently #1, #2, #3, #4, #6, #7, #8, #9 and #10



22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Perfect Stories for Fall

Fall. The time of colorful leaves, fading sunlight, brisk mornings, and soft sweaters. Your tastes are changing with the season and as you reach for the next story, your hand comes away empty. But the

bottom of page