top of page
  • Writer's pictureDamsel

Favorite Female Authors

I struggled a bit with this list; it turns out I do think men are kinda better writers. (In broad terms, men focus on the story and women focus on emotions. I would take story over emotions any day, therefore men will rank higher for me.) I don’t automatically dislike female authors, it’s just easier for me to find male writers that I like and will return to repeatedly. That’s interesting because I’ve read books from about 100 men and 130 women, so it’s not for lack of options. But if I were asked to name my all-time favorite authors, only a couple of these women would make the cut.

This list includes authors I wouldn’t necessarily like today but they still deserve to be mentioned.

I read at least two books from the following authors. I’m ordering them alphabetically because it’s too hard to pick an absolute favorite.


Current Favorites:


Hiromu Arakawa


I never thought I’d be a manga fan, but after reading Fullmetal Alchemist, I can say that I am much more amenable to that medium. Fullmetal is a great story full of great characters and I enjoyed it so much that I’m currently re-watching the Brotherhood anime and loving it all over again.


Robin Hobb


She is the queen of slow-paced fantasy stories that are thoroughly compelling. I’ve only read the Farseer trilogy and everyone says her books just get better as they go, so pretty soon she may be at the top of my fantasy author list.


Hilary Mantel


Is any bookish list complete without me mentioning Tudor England? The Thomas Cromwell trilogy is a great story. I wasn’t a huge fan of book one, but the rest of it drew me in and as I think about it more, its quality increases. I hope she does more historical fiction in a similar vain (I want a Machiavelli trilogy) because it’s something I continue to crave.


J. K. Rowling


No one is as surprised as me to see Rowling on this list. I joined the Harry Potter train around book four’s release but it never burrowed its way into my book heart like it did for other people. I enjoyed it fine and then I moved on. But this past year I’ve been rereading it for the first time and I am shocked by how fun and exciting and good it is.


Dorothy L. Sayers


I always like a good mystery and if it’s set in the first half of the 20th century that makes it even better. Peter Wimsey is a really fun character to follow and his skills with people and his sharp mind make him a great detective.


Past Favorites:

Martha Finley


The Elsie Dinsmore books have stuck with me as one of the best historical fiction series I read as a young reader. There’s nothing special about the plot but it’s sorta like Downton Abbey for kids and I guess even back then that’s what I liked.


Michelle Knudsen


I love it when a series ramps up the quality with each book and that’s what happened with the Trelian trilogy. For middle grade books, they’re thought-provoking and they take some unusual turns, like the main boy and girl just being friends. I will always remember those books fondly.


Carolyn Meyer


She may not be a great writer in terms of prose, but there was no one else in the YA section I could guarantee would deliver digestible historical fiction. I learned a lot from her, and yes, some of it involved Tudor England.


Marissa Meyer


I read The Lunar Chronicles at the perfect time. The emotional impact and enjoyment could not have been higher and I can honestly say that at the time, I loved those books. That series heralded the beginning of the end for my YA reading because right after completing it, I read The Lies of Locke Lamora (my review) and that turned my sights toward adult books. I don’t know if I could love this series today, but back then they were the pinnacle of my YA experience.


Sarah Prineas

The Magic Thief series was so cute and adventurous and it had quite good characters too. Of all the middle grade books I read, this series would go near the top.


Patricia C. Wrede


Her Enchanted Forest series was a large part of my audiobook-filled childhood and I quote those books with my sister to this day. We even named a chicken after one of the characters. If that doesn’t cement her as a favorite, what would?


Honorable Mentions


Morgan Llywelyn

After Rome still sits in my mind as a really good historical fiction story.


Lois McMaster Bujold

I don’t know if I’ll read any of her other stuff, but The Curse of Chalion and Paladin of Souls are solid fantasy books.


Possible future additions


Daphne du Maurier

I know she’s a good writer, I just wasn’t the biggest fan of Rebecca (my review).

Agatha Christie

It just so happens that the only book I’ve read of hers uses a trope I hate, but that doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy her other works.


L. M. Montgomery

The Anne of Green Gables books have so far been sweet and relaxing stories, so I think she could land a higher spot in the future.


Who's your favorite female author?

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

All Things Must End

I always knew I wouldn’t be blogging forever. I guess I just didn’t think the end would arrive quite so suddenly. One day I intended to share a recommendation list for winter stories (a little late in

bottom of page