top of page
  • Writer's pictureDamsel

Favorite Male Authors

I have read books from over 230 authors. I’d guess that I’ve only read one book from about half of them and for most of those, I don’t remember what that book was. Some authors just don’t stick in your memory, for good or ill.

But then there are those who light up the page and haunt you long after the book closes. The ones that crafted the best stories and helped shape you as a reader and writer. The ones whose entire collection you vow to read. Below are the authors who lit the fire and baked the bread to feed my love for books.

I read at least two books from the following authors. I’m ordering them alphabetically because it’s too hard to pick an absolute favorite.


John Flanagan


I found Flanagan early on in my reading. His Ranger’s Apprentice series is one I will always cherish. There isn’t anything fancy in his prose but it’s always an enjoyable ride with easy-to-follow world building and description, solid stories, memorable characters, and snappy dialogue. To this day, I quote it with my sister.

He’s one of the few authors I’ve found who created a whole world but did not include magic. It seems like every book set in a fictional place must also feature magic and his decision not to do that is refreshing and has influenced my own book.

Also, Halt is one of the greatest characters ever.


David Liss

Now that I’ve finished the Benjamin Weaver series, I can honestly say that Liss is the entire package when it comes to historical fiction. Story, characters, dialogue, description, syntax…is there no end to his talent? I can’t wait to read/catch up on his works and continue to follow his career.


Scott Lynch

I have my quibbles with Lynch, but he still created a solid fantasy series. His world building is intense, the stories are intriguing, the dialogue entertaining, and the friendships lasting. In the fantasy book category he tends to be overlooked, but he deserves a spot at the top.


Garth Nix


Before I left the YA circuit, he was my favorite author. I loved the worlds he created and the adventure I went on every time I read his books. He definitely contributed to my desire to write my own stories and I thank him for that.


Terry Pratchett


I’ve only read five Discworld books but they are some of the wildest, funniest, most innovative fantasy stories out there. He was a talented and hilarious writer and it’s sad that we won’t get more from him.


John Steinbeck


He could write about a boy living on a farm and it’d be amazing. Oh wait, he did. Way back in the day when I first read Steinbeck I had an inkling he’d appear on a list like this. His ability to take a mundane idea and create an engrossing and memorable book is a skill I hope I can capture someday.

Michael J. Sullivan


At first I wasn’t sure I’d like Sullivan’s world or writing. His prose didn’t stand out, the history lessons ground the pace to a halt, and I just wasn’t feeling the story. But then…wow. Everything got so much better and some of the twists genuinely shocked me, which I love. Until very recently, he was the last author I gave five stars to and I look forward to reading more of his work.


This is where J. R. R. Tolkien should be, but I am not including him because it’s been over a decade since I read The Lord of the Rings and I don’t know what I would think of his writing now. But I will say that The Hobbit is one of the top books from my childhood.


P. G. Wodehouse


I found him last year and he is absolute comedy gold. He wrote stories following posh English gentlemen and they are a lark. This isn’t the type of humor everyone would like, but for a dose of sheer joy, I can’t do better.

I believe Pratchett gained inspiration from Wodehouse, so if you like one, you’ll probably like the other.


Honorable Mentions


Pierce Brown

Every one of his books is a rollercoaster of emotions.

Jack Higgins

If I ever want a popcorn action/thriller, this is who I turn to.

Washington Irving

His collection of short stories surprised me and I wish he’d written more.


H. P. Lovecraft

He scares me and I like it.


A. A. Milne

Bet you didn’t expect Winnie-the-Pooh to be on this list. Not a fan of Milne’s poems, but the Pooh books are touching and adorable.


Gerald Morris

I have such fond memories of his Squire’s Tales series.


Rick Riordan

When I was a wee lass, I loved the Percy Jackson series and enjoyed The Heroes of Olympus series.

Timothy Zahn

I’m not normally a big admirer of sci-fi but so far he’s been good.


Possible future additions

Josiah Bancroft

Senlin Ascends is really good and I hope he can continue to impress me.


Conn Iggulden

I’m always on the lookout for good historical fiction writers and he could be a new favorite.


Stuart Turton

I liked his debut (The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle) and the premise for his other book sounds extremely intriguing.



Who's your favorite male author?

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

All Things Must End

I always knew I wouldn’t be blogging forever. I guess I just didn’t think the end would arrive quite so suddenly. One day I intended to share a recommendation list for winter stories (a little late in

bottom of page