top of page
  • Writer's pictureDamsel

Under-appreciated Books

Are you sick of seeing the same books advertised? Do you think you’re missing out on great stories because no one talks about them? Have you tried finding new titles, but don’t know where to look? Does this sound like an infomercial? If you answered “yes” to any of those questions, you may be eligible to read the following titles.


Keep in mind that it’s been about a decade since I read some of these books, so while I may not like them today, young me would’ve recommended them.


Let’s start with the middle grade:


The Magic Thief series by Sarah Prineas


This is a cute, adventurous, sometimes dark, fantasy series about a boy who gets adopted by a wizard. He (the boy) often finds himself in trouble as he plays with his newfound magic and steps on the toes of the older wizards. He encounters problems and dangers that wouldn’t be so bad…if he had adult supervision. It also has these adorable pictures at the beginning of each chapter. And lots of bacon sandwiches.


The Keys to the Kingdom series by Garth Nix


A recommendation list wouldn’t be complete without Nix. These books follow a boy who is chosen to be the heir to this House (yes, it’s supposed to be capitalized). He must overcome each of the lesser rulers and acquire their power so he can face the final baddie. That barely hits the surface of all that goes on in here. It…um, wow. It’s a bit on the wild/odd side even by portal fantasy* standards. You’ve got talking rats who live on a boat, tattoos that show a guy’s emotions, animals made of words, child armies, and Nothing, a substance that eats everything in its path. It also has good friendships, craziness, allies, suspense, and cliffhan…

*Portal fantasy is when you start in the real world and go someplace else, like Narnia.


The Squire’s Tales series by Gerald Morris


Do you want King Arthur, knights, squires, adventure, humor and magic? Then this is for you. Much like the musical Camelot and the BBC tv series Merlin, these books get progressively darker and sadder and the end is not desirable. The first three books are my favorite. Also, I LOVE YOU GAHERIS!!!


Trelian trilogy by Michelle Knudsen


More fantasy! This one starts with a dragon and ends with war and magic. And if I’m remembering this correctly, a platonic friendship between a boy and a girl, which is a rare occurrence. The thing that really struck me about these books is the character growth. The struggles they face matures them and makes them smarter than your garden variety kid’s hero. It gets better with each book until the final one almost garnered five stars from me.


Elsie Dinsmore series by Martha Finley


Two and a half caveats: I only read the abridged version of these books published by A Life of Faith. As that name suggests, this is a Christian-geared series, which I know is not for everyone. And this series starts in the middle grade, but by the end is more young adult.


Elsie’s story stretches from before to after the Civil War. All the family drama, relationship complications and Southern lifestyles you could want, topped with war. It’s one of those unusual times when I read the whole series twice, the second time walloping me with more intense emotions. Even if you’re not interested in Christian fiction, it’s still an investable story with an emphasis on family.


Honorable Mentions:


The Unicorn Chronicles by Bruce Coville


Lady Grace Mysteries by multiple authors



Let’s hip hop on over to the young adult:


Allies & Assassins duology by Justin Somper


The best duology that never got its much needed third book. Yep. Still salty. The first book is a medieval-esque murder mystery and it’s been too long since I read it, so I’m a smidge foggy on the details. But I gave both books five stars and I appreciate that they don’t have magic. I don’t remember much else, but every time I think about them, it brings positive vibes.


The King’s Shadow by Elizabeth Alder


Finally, a standalone. It’s about this boy in the mid-1000’s who becomes a scribe/squire for Harold Godwinson. You may recognize the name or know the significant event that took place around him, but I won’t spoil the almost thousand-year-old history.

Again, I don’t remember specifics about this book. What’s stuck with me is the engaging way she told history, and the atmosphere coming off the pages. I think it’s a well-written book.


Romeo & What’s Her Name by Shani Petroff


Contemporaries are a hit or miss with me. Generally a miss when it comes to YA. But this one…it’s about a girl who has a crush on a boy and through a series of incidents ends up playing Juliet opposite him (Romeo) in their school production. It’s so awkward, cheesy, ridiculous and hilariously enjoyable. Read this when the chick flick mood strikes, keep your braincells in check, and you’ll have a great time.


Icefall by Matthew J. Kirby


There’s a lot to be said for a simple story. Whether it takes place in one place, has a small cast, or doesn’t involve saving the world, it can have just as much impact as a sprawling series. Here we follow this girl who’s waiting for her father to return from war. It’s Viking-ish and a mystery and effortlessly paints the landscape and importance of storytellers.


The Enchanted Forest series by Patricia C. Wrede


This fantasy series has everything you could want: princesses and princes, wizards and witches, talking dragons and cats, magic and adventures of all sorts. The full cast audiobook is a great way to experience it. But the fourth book does kinda suck.


Honorable Mentions:

Ascendance trilogy by Jennifer A. Nielsen

Young Royals series by Carolyn Meyer


Strongbow saga by Judson Roberts


Leviathan trilogy by Scott Westerfeld (get the audiobooks)



And lastly, some adult books:


Senlin Ascends by Josiah Bancroft


I wouldn’t call this fantasy, but it does have fantastical elements, along with some steampunk and perhaps a splash of Indiana Jones. This guy loses his wife on their honeymoon and he goes on a quest to find her. He’s really pathetic at the beginning, so watching him change is inspiring and rewarding. I still haven’t finished this series, but I’m hoping the rest is just as good.


The Icarus Hunt by Timothy Zahn


A mystery on a spaceship. What more do you need?


A Conspiracy of Paper and A Spectacle of Corruption by David Liss


These are two of the best books I’ve read so far this year. The writing style, characters, story, world…I had so much fun with them. You can read my reviews here and here.


The Curse of Chalion by Lois McMaster Bujold


When have you ever come across a fantasy book where the MC is older and tired and doesn’t look for trouble but instead wants to live a quiet, uneventful life? In my old review I said, “He's wonderfully flawed and decrepit but still manages to get things done. He's loyal, determined, humorous, and [intelligent].” That is who this book focuses on. But he ends up slowly returning to court life to help with the troubles a-rumbling and a-brewing around the young royals. I think it’s nice that the main problem is viewed from a more secondary position instead of the royals themselves.


Nottingham by Nathan Makaryk

The story of Robin Hood, but not. Read my review here. The next book better not let me down. *Update* It did.


Honorable Mentions:


The Abbot’s Tale by Conn Iggulden (my review)

After Rome by Morgan Llywelyn


The Last Hours by Minette Walters



What are some of your under-appreciated books?



22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

All Things Must End

I always knew I wouldn’t be blogging forever. I guess I just didn’t think the end would arrive quite so suddenly. One day I intended to share a recommendation list for winter stories (a little late in

bottom of page